Automatically start Sonos playback at 6:25am

So, I’m very new to HA, and I’d like to try and get my first piece of automation up and running.

I’d like to have one of my Sonos units (bedroom) play a specific radio station at a specific time, and possibly start with the volume at 0 and fade up to a specific level. Now, this is where I get a bit lost. I’ve looked at some examples, and I’m finding the structure a little confusing, as well as knowing if terms being used (say, script.turn_on) are something unique to the example I’m looking at, or specific to the entity, or just present in HA and can be called on as needed.

I’ve got an include in my main config to pull in a file containing my automation, which then has an include to pull in a file containing this particular piece of automation. Can I put everything in that file, or do I need to call a script?

I’m happy to try and work this out, but I guess I’d be after a reference guide to what commands I can use.

Cheers in advance all!

If you look at services under dev tools (looks like a computer tower icon). You can look at all of your domains and the services that are available to those domains.

For example in your question, script would be the domain and turn_on would be the service.

Hope that helps get you started. If you post your current automation I’m sure someone can help you fine tune it.

Hi Mike,

Thanks for the reply!

So, at the moment I’ve got:

configuration.yaml with !include for automation.yaml, with an !include for weekdaygetup.yaml, which currently looks like this:

alias: Weekday morning routine
trigger:

• platform: time
    after: ‘06:25:00’
    weekday:
    • mon
    • tue
    • wed
    • thu
    • fri
      condition: or
      conditions:
    • condition: state
      enitity.id: ‘sn7plus’
      state: ‘home’
    • condition: state
      entity_id: ‘cn7’
      state: ‘home’
      action:

So, action is where I’m currently stuck.