Automation condition is ignored

I am new to home assistant but not new to development so I understand the concept of conditional states.
I have been attempting to set up some automations with conditions. However, the conditional state seems to be ignored.

This is the automation:

automation:
#+-------------------------------------------------------------
#|  Turn on Christmas tree lights if someone is home
#+-------------------------------------------------------------
  - alias: 'Christmas'
    description: 'Turn on Christmas if home'
    trigger:
    - platform: sun
      event: sunset
      offset: "00:45:00"
    condition:
      - condition: state
        entity_id: group.family
        state: 'home'
    action:
    - service: switch.turn_on
      entity_id: switch.christmas

I have confirmed the group.family state is ‘not_home’. The automation works because the switch turns on 45 minutes after sunset. But with group.family state as not_home the switch turns on, which it shouldn’t.

I am running version 0.102.1.

Am I missing something with conditionals? I run the check config and get no errors.

That all looks correct.

How are you testing the automation?

Waiting for sunset or using the automation.trigger service?

The latter ignores conditions and goes straight to the actions.

I was using the automation.trigger service.

So that would explain why it seemed to be ignoring the condition… because it was!

Thank you for your very fast assistance and pointing out where I was going wrong. I’ll test it differently now.

Yeah, like Tom says… Its a quirk of the system that really just tests the actions
That’s why anyone who has been through this pain (count yourself amongst them) keeps a spare input boolean around (you’d need a restart to create one otherwise) to insert into triggers to test the conditions as well.
The triggers we either have to use code we’ve used before… Or more often… do it the hard way and test each trigger
Welcome to the club :rofl: