Automation condition match with timestamp of a sensor

Hi all,

I’m still very new to using Home Assistant so I can really use a little bit of help with creating a slightly more complex automation rule.

I installed an integration from my local trash collect schedule (Avri) so I now have three sensors for each trash type filled with a value of the next collect date.

What I want is to run a specific action on the evening BEFORE that specific date on a specific time.
So I need to have some sort of condition comparing the current day with the one in the sensor and subtract a whole day from it.

How would I accomplish such task?

Thanks for your help.

What is the format of the collection date? Is it in ISO format like this: 2020-11-18

The condition will use a template to convert the collection date from a string value to a datetime object. It adds a day to the current date (as a datetime object) and compares it to the collection date. If they match then today is the day before the collection day.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Yes the current value for one of the sensors is currently: “2020-11-23”

How would such a template condition look like?

Paste this into the Template Editor to understand how the strptime function converts a date represented as a string to a datetime object:

{{ '2020-11-23' }}
{{ '2020-11-23' is string }}
{{ strptime('2020-11-23', '%Y-%m-%d').date() }}
{{ strptime('2020-11-23', '%Y-%m-%d').date() is string }}

Screenshot from 2020-11-16 09-25-45

The following template takes today’s date and adds one day to it (the result is a datetime object) then compares it to the value of sensor.collection (after it has been converted to a datetime object).

{{ now().date() + timedelta(days=1) == strptime(states('sensor.collection'), '%Y-%m-%d').date() }}

The template will evaluate to true only if today’s date is one day before the collection date. It can be used as a Template Condition in an automation:

- alias: 'Example 1'
  trigger:
    platform: time