Automation for Z-Wave Network Interference Detection in Home Assistant

Hello,

I’m new to Home Assistant and have recently set up a basic alarm system using door sensors integrated with the Z-Wave JS add-on. I’m seeking advice on creating a reliable automation to trigger a wired siren if the Z-Wave network experiences interference from a frequency jammer.

Initially, I attempted to create an automation to activate the alarm when the intrusion state transitions to “unavailable.” However, I’ve noticed that in some instances, this state remains unchanged during a jamming event.

I’ve come across information in the documentation regarding the node status and ping entities for Z-Wave devices. Could these be the key to resolving this issue?

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide!

How are you going to send a command to a Z-Wave device if the network is jammed?

For controller jamming detection:

1. Use the “status” entity of the controller. It will report Jammed if the driver thinks it’s being jammed. This may provide false alarms due to a current bug in the 700/800-series controller firmware
  2. Create template sensors using the (average) background rssi and current rssi entities of the controller, you can compute the difference to detect jamming. You’ll need to decide what value constitutes jamming.

https://drzwave.blog/2021/06/09/detecting-rf-jamming/

It sounds difficult to jam the network, what you are using to do so?

Entities become unavailable when the z-wave js server / driver are offline, not as a result of any network jamming.

1 Like

Thank you for your response.

My intention isn’t to send Z-Wave commands when the network is jammed; rather, I have a wired siren in place. While I haven’t jammed the network myself, I’ve come across discussions in various forums where individuals have reported doing so relatively easily, leaving sensors state unchanged.