Automation Platform event not possible to use for: minutes:

Hi,

i am still quite new to HA and i hope this is the right section to paste my question.
I am struggeling with making my automation a bit more “handy”.

I had using 2 door sensors and created 2 automations with

platform: state

and i was able to use:

for:
  minutes: 10

to start the action after 10 minutes. Means, if the window was opened and still open after 10 minutes, i received a notification.

As I have now multiple door sensors running, i wanted to use some wildcard, which is not working for

platform: state

so I switched to “platform: event” and condition: template:

alias: Window_open_longer_10min
description: Send notification when window is open for longer than 10 minutes
trigger:
  - platform: event
    event_type: state_changed
condition:
  - condition: template
    value_template: "{{ \"binary_sensor.door_sens\" in trigger.event.data.entity_id }}"
  - condition: template
    value_template: "{{ trigger.event.data.new_state.state == \"on\" }}"

action:
  - service: telegram_bot.send_message
    data_template:
      title: "{{ trigger.event.data.new_state.attributes.friendly_name }}"
mode: single

I do not get, where and how i can still use this “for: minutes: 10”.

Thanks in advance,

argonius

Events are instantaneous… they do not have a duration so you cannot use the for: variable. Currently, for is supported in State, Numeric State, Device, and Template triggers. It is also supported in State conditions.