Automation to start charging X hours before 6am every morning

Hi folks,

I want to create an automation that turns a charger on X hours before 6am every morning, where X is the calculated # of hours needed to reach a full charge.

I already have X since I know the charge rate/hr and I have a template sensor that calculates how many hours the car needs to charge for to be full at ~6am

I’m having trouble figuring out a way to create the automation within node-red though. It seems like something that would be relatively simple to do, but I can’t quite figure it out. Can anybody help me out?

Thanks

You can use a normal function node to calculate the start time and than sending this time to a Cron node.

To make it more fancy you can send your “X” offset to this Node which can consider either 6am or Sunrise

Any chance you’d be able to walk me through it or know a good guide to using function nodes? I’m a total newbie with this

Currently this is what I have:

binary sensor for whether the car is plugged in (charger_sensor=on/off)
sensor to calculate a number of hrs needed to reach full charge, rounded up to the hour (tt_charge=n)
switch to control whether the car is charging or not (charger_switch=on/off)

I have a flow triggered when the car is plugged in (charger_sensor=on) --> it checks whether it’s between 9PM and 6AM --> if it is, turn charger off (charger_switch=off) --> wait and I want charging (switch_charger=on) to start at (0630 - (tt_charge))

That flow should be easy. I’ll be back home tomorrow and will try to get you a sample

Thank you so much!

I’m curious, why wouldn’t you just charge until it’s full every time it’s plugged in? If you get home at 9:30 and plug your car in, and it takes 3 hours to charge, you’re done at 12:30 and it’s still good to go at 6:30am when you need it. Or, with this automation, you could wait until 3:30am to charge it and it’s still good to go at 6:30am. But… what’s the purpose of waiting?