Automation to Turn Device A off after N minutes if Device B has changed?!

Help :grin:

I’m fairly new to Home Assistant, but slowly moving over from a hodgepodge of Smartthings, Hubitat and diy ESP based wifi devices.

So I’ve got a switch that turns a bathroom light on/off, no problem, this just happens. Problem is, kids and wife doesn’t seem to understand turning the light off when not occupying the bathroom is a good idea. Ok, quick and easy solution, time the light to go off after 10 minutes. It works, but it’s not ideal when you’re in there for longer periods of time.

Installed a contact sensor on the door, figuring i could still keep the timed aspect but add in an override where the automation wouldn’t fire unless the door had closed and opened again. Well, I’m not getting it to work.

Tried a bunch of ways, but I can only seemingly get it to turn off either by time or sensor. Even tried setting a bool DoorHasOpened but I’m not getting it to trigger properly.

Any help would be appreciated.

Hi,
It’s a common challenge for sure. I have never perfected a solution either but i can offer a couple of pointers that will likely help.

• The door sensor is not so good for triggering an switch ‘off’ condition. A door opening/closing in quick succession would happen when someone enters or leaves.
  • You really need some kind of presence detection in the bathroom. To detect when someone is still in the room. Something like a motion sensor.
    In the case of using a motion sensor you can then base the time to turn off the switch on when motion is no longer detected for a period of time.
    Cheers
1 Like

To do exactly what the title of your post describes, you just need to have a trigger of the state of DeviceB and an action sequence of a delay followed by a service call to turn off Device A.