Automation to turn on relay using helpers in the above and below section of temperature sesnor

Hey so I’m new to HA and I’[m trying to use helpers in the above and below section of a temperature sensor. I have a trigger if the temperature changes and a template condition.

Trigger

type: temperature
platform: device
device_id: ec58e236e3b54c310cd879f9ed0c7dd1
entity_id: sensor.inside_temp_temperature
domain: sensor
above: 0
below: 0

Template condition

trigger:
  - platform: template 
    value_template: "{{ states('sensor.inside_temp_temperature')|int > states('input_number.max_temperature')|int or states('inside_temp_temperature')|int < states('input_number.min_temperature')|int }}"

Then an action to turn on a relay. Every time I test the condition I get an error.

In 'template' condition: ValueError: Template error: int got invalid input 'unavailable' when rendering 
template 'trigger: - platform: template value_template: "{{ states('sensor.inside_temp_temperature')|int 
> states('input_number.max_temperature')|int or states('inside_temp_temperature')|int < 
states('input_number.min_temperature')|int }}"' but no default was specified

Any help would be great! Thanks!

You missed a ‘sensor.’ in your template, which gave an unavailable value that couldn’t be converted to an int because you hadn’t supplied a default.

Error and recommendation fixed here:

trigger:
    value_template: "{{ states('sensor.inside_temp_temperature')|int(0) > states('input_number.max_temperature')|int(0) or states('sensor.inside_temp_temperature')|int(0) < states('input_number.min_temperature')|int(0) }}"

I think you’re getting confused over triggers and conditions, though. You’ve posted a template trigger above, not a condition. Post the full YAML of the automation that you have, and explain carefully what you want it to do.