Automation Trigger works without condition, but when condition added fails to work

Hi - this is probably my own stupid fault but… I have an automation which is designed to trigger when one numeric helper is greater than the other, PLUS (in the condition) a sensor state is set to zero. The automation triggers as expected when no sensor state condition is present, but when I add it, the automation no longer triggers. I have checked the sensor state using developer tools and it is set to 0.

I have tried various combinations of things but none seem to work. Would be very grateful for some pointers. I am still a novice!

description: ""
trigger:
  - platform: numeric_state
    entity_id: input_number.test_charge_percent
    above: input_number.required_battery_percentage
condition:
  - condition: template
    value_template: "{{ states( sensor.fronius_storctl_mod.state ) | int == 0 | int }}"
action:
  - service: notify.mobile_app_iphone_12_steve
    metadata: {}
    data:
mode: single```

Do you need the second | int in the template?

condition:
  - condition: template
    value_template: "{{ (states('sensor.fronius_storctl_mod' ) | int) == 0 }}"

states('sensor.fronius_storctl_mod')

Untested as I am at work, but I think this is the correct syntax.

Correct, but that still returns a string.

All in all you do not need a template for this. A state condition would work equally well, and can be fully specified using the gui.

3 Likes

You need to put the | int back on it. I was just showing your error.

Thanks - initially I had it without the state but it didn’t work then either!

I’ll try that, thanks. Still odd as to why it doesn’t work as a template though, especially as I’m using the entire process as a huge learning exercise.

Right. But, you were missing the quotes.

states() takes in a string. The name of the object. Not the actual object.