Automation using Sunset and weather conditions won’t start

Hi there!

I am new to Home Assistant but had wide expirerende with PiMatic in the past. As I am going, imam trying to copy the automations from PiMatic over to HASS.

All going pretty well - but - 2 of my automations won’t start for some - to me - unclear reason.

I have a (old) sunscreen which I automated using Tasmota. The automations include weather responses as well as going up during sunset.

But, whilst other automations work, the weather automation and sunset do not. I feel there is something wrong with the condition I use, but reading the HASS documentation I couldn’t pinpoint the issue - also I am not 100% sure the condition is the issue.

This is what I’m using right now:

Trigger weather:

platform: State
entity_id: sensor.openweathermap_condition

Trigger Sunset:

platform: sun 
event: sunset

Conditions and action is the same for both:

Condition:

condition: state
entity_id: input_boolean.zonnescherm_helper
state: 'On'

Action:

service: script.zonnescherm_omhoog
data: {}

For the weather triggering, try to change it to something like this --> from: cloudy to rainy. What you shown here doesn’t seem right as it’s just showing from: rainy.

For the sunset triggering, you can try to use the entity state instead. For example, entity_id: sun.sun and from above_horizon to below_horizon.

Thanks for the quick response - I have just updated it. And will test during the day.

My ultimate goal would be to have the sunscreen go up when it’s raining, but it seems quite difficult to get that from OWM what I remember from earlier attempts in PiMatic.

Is there a way in HASS to specify the amount of rain (in mm) instead of using cloudy/rainy? Or would cloudy/rainy work still best?