Axis cameras (Companion line) - solved by kimjohnson

Does anyone know if the Axis Camera Integration (Axis - Home Assistant) works with the Axis Companion Camera Line? The Companion camera line is/was (they have since been discontinued) the Axis economy line and these cameras are designed to only work with the Companion Player NVR or a NAS having Companion sofware AXIS Companion Classic - Product support | Axis Communications. Please note, Axis Companion software will support ALL Axis cameras, but the Axis Companion cameras will only play on Axis Companion software (not Axis Camera Station). The Companion line camera models are: AXIS Companion 360, AXIS Companion Dome V, AXIS Companion Bullet LE, AXIS Companion Bullet mini LE, AXIS Companion Eye L, AXIS Companion Eye LVE and AXIS Companion Eye mini L.

I am new to Home Assistant, purchased a Home Assistant Blue (an ODROID-N2+ with Home Assistant preinstalled) when first released and am just now starting it up, updated the firmware and am not having any success with my first integration, which are my Axis Companion cameras. The Axis cameras are set for static IP and they were automatically discovered and integrated by Home Assistant upon startup. However, the cameras will not stream. Any guidance would be appreciated.

I’d suggest starting with the exact url required to pull a stream into something like VLC. Once you’ve got that working in one place you can use it as a stepping stone of trial and error.
Either you can because it does work and you’ve discovered it or you haven’t. Or you can’t because it doesn’t and you’ve spent a week discovering that.
Test with actual hardware.

Hi Rob,

I am facing the same issues and was wondering if you have the companion cameras working in HA?