Battery distance sensor

Hi, I am wondering if there is available a battery distance sensor. I want to use it in the edge of my awning. I need to know the position of the awning in order to be able to fold it or unfold it depending on the weather. So let’s say is half open (2 meters) if it gets windy I would like to close to 1 meter (not totally)
That’s why I need a battery distance sensor. Is there any available? (I am not good at dyi)
Thanks

Do you control the awning manually or is it electrical? Is there a wall right next to the awning?

it is electrical, wifi, so it is already integradet to HA. No wall in the sides of awning, only the wall that it is fitted

Just an idea, couldn’t you just completely close it and then open it to the desired length when the weather changes?

This what I am doing right now but it is not so good solution. Most of the time it is in the right position so it closes just to return where it was

Could you please reply to me instead of the post, otherwise I won’t see your answer.
How do you open the awning to for example 2 meters with HA?

@Burningstone
With 12 sec delay it opens at 20% of the awning
3 meters is the full opening distanse. I usually need it at 25 to% in order if it is windy not to brake and if it’s raining to the table and the chairs to remain dry

Do you also open/close the awning manually sometimes or only through HA?
How do you control the awning with HA, you press a button or what?

@Burningstone
Sometimes a family member will change the position manually or me manually through HA interface (up down arrows)
Right now I have 2 automations.
1 At 0900 clock each morning move to the desired position.
2. If the wind speed is more than 35 km/h move to desired position

However most of the times it is in the desired position but I don’t have a way to inform HA that it is.

I also don’t know if there is a switch that can report its position but i can not imagine how it would.