Best choice for keeping a longer history for sensors

I’ve been using HA for about 8 months now, and love it. I’ve tried to keep my install as generic as possible. Other than the many cool components out there I have not installed any “extras” like nodered, appdaemon, etc. I wanted to get a firm understanding of how things were working before taking that step. Overall I have not found much I could not do, that I wanted to do, that required any extras. I’m running HA in a python VENV on ubuntu, at the moment.

Sorry for the intro before my actual question.
I’ve started to add a few sensors that I think I’d like to actually be able to keep a longer history. Also maybe something a bit more stable for storing the states of input_selects, booleans, text, etc. Once in a while the recorder component fails after a restart/upgrade and I lose my values and have to redo them.

Looking for something stable, but not overly complex. Something I 'm not going to have to upgrade and reconfigure every few months. Hopefully more of a set it and forget it kind of thing.

I’m not a developer, but I can get around in unix and yaml pretty well.

Thanks

Edit: Should have included some hardware stuff. I’m running on an older I3 with 4gb ram on an SSD.

1 Like

Have you looked at the MariaDB addon (https://www.home-assistant.io/addons/mariadb/) or MariaDB / MySQL external to your HA install to store your history etc?

The basics are covered in the addon link above and expanded a little here https://www.home-assistant.io/components/recorder/#custom-database-engines

I currently have mine set to hold data for 367 days ( allowing me to compare today to a year ago) and performance is acceptable for me on a Pi 3. You can also add your own databases and use the SQL Sensor (https://www.home-assistant.io/components/sensor.sql/) to query them.

Not sure if this will fit what you are looking for.

1 Like

The influxdb component was designed for this purpose.

1 Like