Best door sensors for Home Assistant?

Hi Everyone

New HA user here. I recently moved to Home Assistant after giving up on OpenHab2. By comparison, Home Assistant is amazing for its simplicity in configuration and compatibility with everything! I am glad I found it before moving to SmartThings. Openhab is frustrating to no end for beginners.

I am looking for some suggestions on door sensors to use with my new installation.

I am sure this question has been asked before, but I did some searching and could not find a consensus on what product works best.

Thank you for any suggestions you can provide!

Cheers
Chris

@parsons256 I use Aeotec, and Ecolink dooor/window sensors. They are zwave based, and you need some sort of z-wave controller or hub. You can find other devices that I use here https://github.com/skalavala/smarthome

I have been using Xiaomi Aqara door sensors for a few months now and they are very good and small too. They use zigbee to communicate so you also need a hub. Xiaomi offer several devices with hub functionality including a camera and a socket but I use the hub with built in light and speaker (which I use as a night light and doorbell). I got all my bits from Gearbest and they are frequently on promotion, I got the hub for £17 and the door sensors were less than £4! (look out for coupon codes). I also have motion sensors and light switches from the range which replace a standard switch. Everything is very reliable and I’ve never had any problems. I don’t use the Mi Home app as everything works so well through home assistant. I’m so impressed that I’ve ordered some Aqara motorised curtains but the Chinese New Year means a longer wait for them to arrive!

1 Like

+1 on @MartinB comments. I have used the Xiaomi products for a few months and they are very good. Easy to configure and very reliable. Battery life for now seems decent too.

1 Like