Best option for Philips Hue connection

I’m looking at getting Philips Hue light strip for a bedroom and I am very new to HA and smart home devices in general. What would the best option to link the lights to my HA instance? I currently have a rpi4 and it is my understanding that to connect the light strip I would need a “bridge” or something of that sort, does anyone have any suggestions? I was looking at the “ConBee II” but I don’t think I have a place to consistently run it, if I can’t just plug it directly into my pi.

I don’t know if the LED strips are Zigbee compliant but much of Hue devices are, in which case any Zigbee stick should work (if using on your pi make sure you use an extension cable plugged into a POWERED USB hub plugged into your rPi). Otherwise you can buy the Hue hub too.

Both the bulbs and strips are zigbee, I have 3 bulbs and one of the cheaper led strips at the moment connected via a skyconnect to my HA install without issues at this time via the ZHA intergration using the aeotec motion sensors to turn them on and off based on if I am in the room or not at the time.

I’ll be looking into the hue smart plug at a later date as I move more plugs from the lenovo tuya wifi based that require cloud to pure local only zigbee.

As stated in another thread as well all functions for the hue lights work with HA, you will only need an account to update firmware through the app.

Thanks for the response, could you link the Zigbee device you recommend, and would this solution be PnP?

I’ve never used the Home Assistant branded Zigbee linked above, I use a Sonoff Zigbee stick for mine and it works well and is as plug and play as anything.