Best way to avoid/filter redundant alerts from triggered sensor

Greetings,

This may be an odd request as I haven’t seen anything similar asked here on the forum. I have an automated front security gate that swings open/closed that I’ve made “smart”. I’ve placed a photoelectric beam sensor to monitor anything (person/vehicle) passing through the front gate entrance. I’ve set up a simple HA Automation to play a wave file when the photo electric beam is triggered. The issue I have is when the gate opens or closes the gate, as it swings it arc, triggers the beam sensor multiple times and , hence, the sound notification multiple times. I’m a complete noob when it comes to Node-Red or HA Automations. My first thought was to change the Automation to Node-Red giving me a more granular control. Then based on the manual trigger of the gate opener and/or the automated time that the gate opens/closes, filter or enforce the sound notification to play only once. I have no idea where to begin or how to go about this or if it’s even possible. Any feedback or direction would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks all

TD

Do you have a flow already?

@sender Thank you for the super fast reply. I do not, at least not in Node-Red. I have a HA Automation to trigger a sound notification when the beam sensor is tripped. And I have a HA Automation to automatically close the gate if open at 7:00PM each night. To be clear, these are in HA, not Node-Red.

TD

So what do you want? Someone else to make it for you? :slight_smile: Or do you want help creating it yourself? Make a start and someone might be able to help…

You can easily do this in node red by e.g. using a “limit node” to limit the sound playing only once during a certain time (gate open/close)

@hackerkatt If you can share what you have as your current automation, someone will help improve it.

For some reason my response to you @sender yesterday failed to deliver.

Address not found