Best way to connect custom sensor board to HA

I’m a beginner with HA scripting.
I made a custom PCB that connects an ESP32 to a magnet switch and has a relay to operate my garage door. I had no trouble setting up buttons in HA to open/close the door using MQTT but I am at a loss as to how to get notification of the door state. First I want to have an indicator that shows the open/closed state. Ultimately I want to send a notification (email for example) if the door is left open after a certain time. I can make the ESP32 code publish and subscribe whatever MQTT messages work best but not sure what that should be. I’m open to using Node Red if it would be simpler.

Hi there, by magnetic switch, do you mean a reed switch which you use a door open or close sensor? If so you can use the mqtt binary sensor to detection the door position like below.

binary_sensor:
  - platform: mqtt
    name: "Window Contact Sensor"
    state_topic: "home-assistant/window/contact"
    payload_on: "on"
    payload_of: "off"
    device_class: door

Make sure the payload for on and off are correct, also the state topic

That’s part of what I want but please explain further.
How should the sensor publish? Once each time the sensor changes state, every few seconds, or does HA publish a request for sensor state then waits for a response?

HA will subscribe to the state topic which is mentioned in binary sensor config. The sensor at the door should be configured to sent specific payloads for open and close to the same topic like on for open and off for close. When HA recieves a payload through the mqtt state topic, it would check if the payload is same as either payload_on or payload_off and select corresponding states.

There is no need for a mqtt request to be made towards the door for publishing the output.