Best way to do action, then wait, then do another action?

I’m fairly new with HA - just getting into the cool stuff. I’m trying to figure out the best way to accomplish the following:

1. Motion sensor senses motion
  2. A light is turned on and set to red (this was easy, I have it configured already)
  3. Motion sensor stops sensing motion
  4. The light changes to yellow (got this too)
  5. After 2 minutes, the light turns green
  6. After 10 minutes, the light turns off
  7. At any point after step 3, if the sensor triggers again, it should abandon the wait/timer actions and just turn red and start over.

Do I use scripts? I saw info about single and parallel - how do I get it to interrupt and override the pending actions? Any help is much appreciated.

You’re going to need some helpers. You’ll need one or more timer helpers and probably an input_select helper to keep track of where you are in the process. A timer can be cancelled or (re)started. You can trigger an automation on timer.finished. You can add the timers and input_select to your dashboard and watch the process.

I assume you’ve already created some automations to get where you are. See how far you can get with these hints. Sometimes it’s good to struggle a bit in order to gain understanding. :slight_smile: Scripts are just automations without a trigger. They are useful when you need to reuse the same logic/actions from multiple automations or maybe even multiple places in the same automation.

One final hint. As long as your motion sensor is reliable, I like to cancel the timer(s) when motion is first detected and then restart the timer when the motion is clear. Otherwise, constant motion could allow your timer to expire. It’s OK to cancel a timer that is already idle. It has no effect.

Or you could just use the colour attribute of the light to track the progress.