Best zigbee full color bulbs/led strips/plugs: I am green

Let me start off with:
I am new to HA :frowning:
I am familiar with making Hue and Alexa work together (this should clearly show my skill set with HA and ZigBee). My Hue bulbs are dropping like flies; they are only 2 years old. Phillips warranty/support are not very nice when you are outside the warranty period. Hue is not an option moving forward. I just did the amazon prime day thing and chose Sengled only because it wasnā€™t hue and it was ZigBee :slight_smile:. I chose poorly. :stuck_out_tongue:

I found out that I spent a lot of money that isnā€™t supported by HA or they did the ā€œclosed ZigBeeā€ approach. I did indeed make the bulbs work, but no controlsā€¦ even the plugs and light strip were able to be turned on but nothing more; no color or no brightness control.

At this point I would like ZigBee full color bulbs that can be fully controlled by HA. I am trying to eliminate adding more hubs/repeaters to my system. I am not fully opposed to WiFi or Z-Wave but honestly I need a lot of bulbs/lights/plugs and I really donā€™t want to break the bank.

I am fully aware this is going to illicit opinions - please understand I am just trying to learn and get more familiar with the options out there.

What zigbee co-ordinator and integration did you use? You mention nothing of your hardware except that is it sengled bulbs, but you donā€™t even say the model.

ZHA? zigbee2mqtt? Conbee?

Plenty of sengled stuff does work. see zigbee2mqtt.io | šŸ“˜ Zigbee2mqtt documentation and Database of Zigbee devices compatible with ZHA, Tasmota, Zigbee2MQTT, deCONZ, ZiGate and ioBroker

1 Like

I hope this helps someone out thereā€¦
Sengled works fine with ZHA. deCONZ is the wrong way to go with Sengled. Use ZHA (ZigBeeHomeAutomation).

Begin rant: