Better examples in the documentation

I’m fairly new to Home Assistant. I’m still learning the ropes. Unfortunately I have found the documentation to be somewhat lacking.

The single most frustrating thing I have found about the documentation is that the examples have no context. The sample code is trimmed to the bare minimum number of lines to show the syntax for the feature being described, and the lines of code that would show you how that feature is used are missing.

For example, last night I was trying to figure out how to use the mqtt publish service as the action of an automation. Here’s the sample from the documentation…

{
  "topic": "home-assistant/light/1/command",
  "payload": "on"
}

If there had been just a couple more lines…

action:
   platform: mqtt.publish
     data:
     {
       "topic": "home-assistant/light/1/command",
       "payload": "on"
     }

It would have saved me a couple of hours of searching for how to call a service that takes parameters.

I’m not sure why all of the examples I see in the documentation are so minimal, but just a couple more lines of context would help a whole lot.

Your action should be as follows in YAML format:

action:
  service: mqtt.publish
  data:
    topic: "home-assistant/light/1/command"
    payload: "on"
    retain: "true"

platform is used in the trigger, not the action

The JSON given in the example is for pasting into the developer tools services page

2 Likes

Right, and it would have been awesome if that had been on the documentation page for the mqtt component.

I went through all of the automation documentation and all of the mqtt component documentation and there was nothing in there that would show me how to construct that yaml entry.

1 Like

Well, the documentation on automation and services shows the layout, and at that point you would just substitute the service for mqtt.publish