Better python script examples

I would love to see some better/more-complete python script examples. Maybe I’m missing something, but the one in the docs is just too basic to be useful as a basis for using the python scripting feature. Are there some “test scripts” somewhere that I should look at?

1 Like

Hi Eric, did you look at the other examples here on the forum? There are quite a few good ideas and examples.

I did, and yes, some of them are useful. I was hoping for more, but maybe it’s too soon after the release of python scripting.

I hope more people will add their scripts for others to learn from and replicate. I am specially looking for a script to combine multiple device trackers into one.

I’m not a programmer but I think if you look at the example scripts it should be fairly simple to do that.

Call a script when the state of any tracker changes, have it do it’s logic (determine whether you want it to trigger home or not), then create a new meta device_tracker sensor with the status you want.

I look forward to seeing more examples because I am not a coder but I can follow along / copy and paste if I see what someone else has done.

This was another simple one I made similar to the plant one I posted:

Counts through all the lights, and a list of switches I defined, and returns an input_boolean ‘on’ if any lights are on and ‘off’ if all lights are off. Also returns a count of how many total are on as an attribute.

Simple but it makes triggering/conditioning automations a lot simpler

2 Likes

That is exactly what I want…a meta tracker for every individual that takes data from individual trackers (Owntracks, iOS app, Router, etc.) and uses the most recent information from the individual trackers to update the meta tracker.

I am not sure how to proceed. I will look at your example and try something.

I took a crack at it, it appears to be working. Will make a more detailed post after I test it:

The automation to call it: