BEWARE! If you're using a MicroSD, switch to a HDD NOW!

Hello there,
this is a alert post more than anything else.
I’ve been using Home Assistant for almost 4 years now if I’m not mistaken and it’s been a love/hate journey.

Today, I need to tell something important to anyone who uses a MicroSD Home Assistant setup!

It’s now the fourth time Home Assistant Recorder has completely fried my drive. Yup, you read that right. It’s now garbage and needs to be replaced.

Beginning my journey with Home Assistant, I used a Raspberry Pi 3 and a class 10 MicroSD, however 8 months later it wrote itself to death. I wasn’t able to get anything back - total loss. No backup.
I purchased a new SanDisk MicroSD card and redid everything. It lasted one year. Fried. Backup has been made.
Again, I purchased a new SanDisk MicroSD and, similarly, it fried itself after some time.
And lastly, the expensivest loss: A 120GB SSD in my NUC, which lasted about 2 years. Even with all precautions taken, such as excluding most entities.
Home Assistant Recorder has fried all of those solid state devices to death.
The SSD, however, still works somehow, but after trying to write on anything unmounts itself and spits out all sorts of errors, such as: -bash: /usr/bin/sudo: Input/output error to all commands.
EDIT: Please read post #49

I know, there is a blue disclaimer at the top of the Recorder documentation indicating that it might “reduce” the drives livespan, but it absolutely kills it.

If you are currently running Home Assistant on a MicroSD, switch the database to an external HDD drive or disable the database NOW, before it’s too late.

Peace.

1 Like

I’ve never had an SD card or SSD issue and won’t change using my MariaDB addon but I am enthusiastic about everyone having daily automated off server backups.

3 Likes