Binary Sensor change to trigger light switch on

Hi,
I am very new to using Home Assistant and I am trying to build an automation that does the following:

1. Triggers 15 minutes after sunset.
  2. Then checks a binary sensor that has been set up to see if my TV is turned on.
  3. If the TV is on then turn on a Philips Hue light.

This is what I currently have but it isn’t working:

- id: '1573232716191'
  alias: TV_Light_TV_On
  description: This will automatically turn on the TV light if the TV is on after
    sunset
  trigger:
  - event: sunset
    offset: 00:15:00
    platform: sun
  condition:
  - condition: state
    entity_id: binary_sensor.living_room_tv
    state: 'on'
  action:
  - device_id: e1f5093088814aeb9a140cdd58a9c707
    domain: light
    entity_id: light.tv_light_2
    type: turn_on

Any ideas, I am completely new to this, I am sure it is something simple!
Thanks!

1 Like

Should be

offset: "+00:15:00"

See here for more info.

I actually don’t see anything wrong. Why do you say it doesn’t work? Do you see any errors in the log? Have you tried manually triggering the automation to see if it turns on the light? Have you checked the state of binary_sensor.living_room_tv at 15 minutes after sunset to see if it is on? Are you sure the automation is turned on?

I don’t think that’s necessary. Although it’s usually better to quote times like this, in this case I don’t think it will make a difference. Also the plus sign isn’t required (but doesn’t hurt either.)

Through trial and error testing, I am pretty certain the error is to do with the binary sensor, rather than the trigger or the action. I have tested the rest and it seems to work. For whatever reason it doesn’t seem to acknowledge the condition with the binary sensor :confused:

Good to know, thanks.

@bbarnes1987 The condition looks right, so I’d check if the binary sensor is on at the time that the automation should fire (like Phil said).