Bitmanipulation for status and command via mqtt payload

Hi all

I’m pretty new to Home assistant.
The whole reason I tried to set it up is because I have rather dumb “domotics” light control system.
It can only toggle output based on input switches (each with an own address strap).

What I have done to augment the domotics system is develop an arduino shield myself containing some i2c contolled IO expanders so I can trick the system to simulate button switches.
Also I’m able to report back the current status of each output of my light system.
Now I’m able to control the system via a stupid app and udp commands.

Now, i would like to connect HA as a control.

I set up mqtt and my arduino is perfectly capable of sending his status as a 32 bit mask (just an integer number in the mqtt data body). Each bit representing the state of one of the outputs.

Now the hard part (for me):
Below you see the mqtt related configuration in my configuration.yaml. What I would like to do is to be able to let HA communicatate via one mqtt Topic and 32bit value to control all lights.

So in my example, the kitchen is situated as bit 0 in the bitmask

I tried 2 versions to get the state:
1:

light:
      - platform: mqtt
        name: "kitchen"
        command_topic: "DOMESTIA/SWITCHES"
        state_topic: "DOMESTIA/SWITCHES/STATUS"
        state_value_template: "{{ value|int|bitwise_and(1) > 0 }}"
        payload_on: "on"
        payload_off: "off"

2:

light:
      - platform: mqtt
        name: "kitchen"
        command_topic: "DOMESTIA/SWITCHES"
        state_topic: "DOMESTIA/SWITCHES/STATUS"
        state_value_template: < 
            {% if {{ value|int|bitwise_and(1) }} > 0 %}
            "On"
            {% else %}
            "Off"
            {% endif %}
        payload_on: "On"
        payload_off: "Off"

Both no success. I checked around for templating but I cannot connect the code snippets i found to get the result I would like to achieve.