Bitwarden component

Hi,

I always found it quite strange and not very secure to just put my plaintext passwords into a configuration file. That’s why I would be very interested in having an integration with eg Bitwarden to automatically get my password out of the Bitwarden Vault. This would also make it possible to change any password, without changing the configuration file of HA.

Main features:

• Get username/password/token/… from Bitwarden vault
  • Approve which passwords can be requested by HA and which not (could be done by adding the approved ones into an organisation for example)
  • Both self-hosted as Bitwarden’s web vault compatible

This Feature request is NOT the same like this addon: Home Assistant Community Add-on: Bitwarden RS. The addon from @frenck is purely to make it easy to self-host the Bitwarden Vault. My Feature request is to enable Home Assistant requesting passwords from Bitwarden, like we currently can via credstash.

I’m not too technical on this aspect, but there’s a powerful, full-featured command-line interface (CLI) tool to access and manage your Bitwarden vault: https://help.bitwarden.com/article/cli/

What do you guys think? I believe this could increase the security heavily.

Thanks!
Cadish

Wouldn’t you need to give HA access to the vault through a hard coded password or other means, thus leaving you in the same situation?

This has been discussed many times already. I suggest to use the forum search feature and read the docs. Especially the part at the end!

1 Like

Good point which I assumed would be possible to mitigate. But that must be confirmed by someone with a decent knowledge on this. As said, I’m not that technical enough for this.

What I found to be a possible viable solution is to work with tokens. Like this:

Bitwarden works by having a “master key” that is computed from your email and
password. This needs to be kept “safe”, but this is a CLI program. We could