Bluetooth propane tank monitor: ESPhome, Otodata, Nee-vo, Ferrellgas, BLE

TLDR:

Found propane tank sensor broadcasting via Bluetooth and got it working in HA. Complete NOOB on BLE so please provide better solutions.

ESPHOME Code:

# Bluetooth for Propane tank sensor
esp32_ble_tracker:
# Sending state data: '{"timestamp":1309,"address":"C3:2E:95:XX:XX:XX","rssi":-69,"name":"level: 67.4 % horiz"}'
  on_ble_advertise:
    # Change MAC Address to your specific device as shown in BLE Tracker.
    - mac_address: C3:2E:95:XX:XX:XX
      then:
        - lambda: |-
            # Get the name of bluetooth device.
            std::string name = x.get_name();
            # Check if name begins with "level:".
            if (esphome::str_startswith(name, "level:")) {
              # Delete the first 7 characters from name.
              name.erase(0,7);
              # Extract the tank state value up to next space character. 
              std::string value = esphome::str_until(name.c_str(), ' ');
              # Update template sensor value converting to float value.
              id(propane_level).publish_state(atof(value.c_str()));
            }

sensor:
# To store the propane level percentage - does nothing on its own.
  - platform: template
    name: Propane Level
    id: propane_level
    unit_of_measurement: '%'
# Reports the signal strength auto magically.
  - platform: ble_rssi
    mac_address: C3:2E:95:XX:XX:XX
    name: "Propane RSSI"

Backstory:

I knew that my propane provider “Ferrellgas” installed a battery powered sensor unit, that sends data over Cell/Mobile phone connection, a few months ago. I asked the installer if I could get access to the data and he told me to contact local branch. Local branch had no clue and told me to call head office. Head office told me I could sign in to a web site that would show my tank percentage status. This did show the data but I could not find a simple way to automate the extraction/download.