Bluetooth XDO BT802 BT-802 and ZEXMTE Tutorial Home Assistant 2022.8.7

NB: Updated March 2024.

I recently purchased the XDO BT802 from Amazon. It’s on the list of “Known Working Adapters” on the Bluetooth Integration Page. I had some trouble getting this working on my Raspberry Pi 4 running Raspbian 11 / Bullseye with Home Assistant Core, so while I’m not an expert at either Linux or Bluetooth I thought I’d post how I got this working.

Short answer: you need to download the driver, which is two Linux commands which I provide below. For other similar adapters I some hints on how to find appropriate drivers.

Posts below suggest the ZEXMTE Long Range Bluetooth Adapter has the same chipset, and the process below works for it as well.

You may also find my Xiaomi Mijia LYWSD03MMC Tutorial useful.

NB: if you want an easier option (though downloading two files is pretty easy) the Sena UD100-G03 is recommended by Home Assistant and I found it was picked up immediately by the Raspberry Pi with no issues at all. However, the ZEXMTE with the Realtek Bluetooth 5.1 chipset seems to pick up signals more easily than the older Sena adapter with Bluetooth 4. The Sena reports higher signal strengths, but my more distant sensors say “Unknown”. With the ZeXMTE / Realtek the reported signal strengths are lower, but all of my sensors report it more reliably.

Core Problem

The key problem is that Linux requires a “firmware” / aka Driver to get a piece of hardware working. The firmware for this device is not installed in Raspbian by default, so getting it installed is the key. The error message I was getting in the home assistant user interface was

Failed to start Bluetooth: adapter ‘hci0’ not found

The XSO BT802 appears to have a Realtek RTL8761BU chipset. To download the firmware / driver for this chipset ssh into your Raspberry Pi and run the following commands.

cd /lib/firmware/rtl_bt