Broadlink RM

I am a newbie with home assistant and I got so much fun to develop and automate some stuffs in my home. One of the problem I am facing is that I cannot connect with my broadlink rm. When I use developer tool to trigger the service request, i got this in the terminal log.

17-03-16 08:29:27 ERROR (MainThread) [homeassistant.components.switch.broadlink] Failed
to connect to device, timeout.

Any hints and suggestions will be appreciated.

The error message is due to a network issue or that your Broadlink device does not response on the message from HA.

There is a bug in the library we are using that might be the reason for your issue. You can try to apply this fix https://github.com/mjg59/python-broadlink/pull/70/files to you local Broadlink library.

can you post your config? Did you set the broadlink with static IP address and does it match the config?

Thanks Daniel.

I just give it a try but no luck.

Included these two lines into initl.py

•      if (time.time() - starttime) > self.timeout:

•        raise

Yes switched. I am using static IP. Phillips Tv is just a dummy section for me to trail. Not really using it.

switch 2:
platform: broadlink
host: 192.168.1.6
mac: ‘00:19:94:35:CF:D5’
timeout: 30
switches:
tv:
friendly_name: “Phillips Tv”
command_on: ‘JgAcAB0dHB44HhweGx4cHR06HB0cHhwdHB8bHhwADQUAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA=’
command_off: ‘JgAaABweOR4bHhwdHB4dHRw6HhsdHR0dOTocAA0FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA=’

No luck?
Any errors in the log, or the same as before?

Just the same.

17-03-16 10:22:49 ERROR (MainThread) [homeassistant.components.switch.broadlink] Failed
to connect to device, timeout.

With the fix applied to the code, you can try to increase the timeout from the config.

Not sure if related, but the MAC you have supplied is registered to Jorjin technologies.
I checked my MAC for my broadlink and it is correct labelled under Broadlink Pty Ltd.