Bulit-in MQTT broker

Can I use the built-in MQTT broker as-is to track my phone running owntracks app?

If so what do I need to set up to get this to work? I’m looking through the docs and seem to be going in circles trying to figure it out.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

1 Like

Actually you can do this yes. Seems as if the owntracks supports mqtt http://owntracks.org/booklet/tech/mqtt/. So you “just” have to make the HA-Instance and the port 1883 (if default) accessable through the internet, like with duckdns and portforwarding, and then push your location with the build in api of owntracks. Just set the broker address to your duckdns-domain and the port to 1883 (if default) and then use the yaml to read the topic out with your HA.

How do I set the broker address? I have never used mqtt so I’m a total noob with this. So could you dumb it down for me.

So how do I set the broker address to my DDNS.
What do you mean “read the topic out”?

I was also new to MQTT and just couldn’t figure out how to use the embedded broker. Like so many things with Home Assistant, the documentation always seems to assume you have some previous knowledge on the subject and seem to be missing key bits of information… I ended up using the OwnTracks (via HTTP) component. It was a much more straightforward setup for me.