Can a helper variable be used in an action alias

Hi,

I’m rather new to HA and are making my first automation. I have 5 Sonos devices and for each device a custom button card that sets a boolean helper (on/off). Depending on the state of those 5 boolean helpers, I want to group the selected devices. I was wondering if I could use the boolean helpers to make my group_members conditional? Maybe it’s not possible, maybe I’m struggling with the syntax.

type: button
tap_action:
  action: call-service
  service: media_player.join
  target:
    entity_id: media_player.sonoskeuken
  data:
    group_members:
      - '{{input_boolean.bsonosdraagbaar, ''media_player.draagbaar''}}'
      - '{{input_boolean.bsonosbadkamer, ''media_player.badkamer''}}'
icon: mdi:multiplication-box
icon_height: 30px
name: Group
  1. Home Assistant’s standard set of cards don’t support templates (except for the Markdown card). Move the service call to a script and make the Button card call the script.

2. If you want to use the entity’s value then you have to retrieve the entity’s value using the states() function.

3. If you want to check if an entity’s value is equal to a specific value then you have to explicitly perform the comparison. For example, using is_state().

4. Your example fails to consider the possibility that both input_booleans might be off. In that case, there would be no media_players specified and the media_player.join service is likely to fail with an error.

You need to build the list of media_players in a variable and then, if the quantity of media_players is greater than zero, proceed to join them with the service call, otherwise don’t execute the service call.

Let me know if you need more help to implement my suggestion.

Hi,