Can Alexa be aware of where she is?

Hello there,

I’ve an Alexa product in almost every important part of my house.
I’d like to be able to enter a room and say something like “Alexa, on the light” or “Alexa close the shutter”

But it means that the Alexa device that hears me the most (could be more than one …) should understand “of the room where you are”.

I tried grouping in the Alexa app but it is not working very well. When I say “Close the shutter”, it might off the light, tell me that there is no device to close or say something like “which parameter do you want to change?”, it is weird.

Do you know what could be done, maybe with the intents? (I’ve no experience with that, I don’t even know if it is what I believe it is, lol)

Thank you.

Right now if you are asking alexa to calculate responses you’re limited to what you can do - but… Alexa Media Player can help:

It has a sensor called ‘last called’
Using Alexa Media Player “last called” service - Configuration - Home Assistant Community (home-assistant.io)

Coupled with notifications you can act on where the last ask was.

It also supports the personalization features is you’ve enabled it and can tell you who answered in the response.

Lucky me, I’ve Alexa Media Player configured :slight_smile:
I’ll give it a try. I know what to do this week-end!

1 Like

Wanna get freaky?

When you’re done lookup Alexa Actionable Notifications (designed to work on concert with this)

You want to have a conversation with Alexa?

You should have seen my wife’s face the first time I had a back and forth convo with Madame A.

It’s been a while, but I experimented with using the “last_called” sensor from Alexa Media Player for room-aware automations in the past. Even then, when “last_called” was more reliable than it has been lately, I found using room-based device groups in the Alexa app to be more reliable.

I want to be in a house like Sarah in Eureka.

2 Likes