Can I combine home assistant with other home automation platforms? how to combine with another knx control panel?

Hi all,

I plan to build a new house in coming months and I would like to deploy an automation system from scratch. I am a novice in the home automation field but I have experience with linux, networking and python. I would like to have as much freedom and flexibility as possible and that’s why HA seems the best option for me.

My fear is that I plan to deploy a quite big and complex system (at least for me) as I would like to manage lights, power plugs, cameras, windows, doors, proximity sensors, media players…etc. and I am not sure if I will be able to configure HA in a reasonable amount of time and “production grade” as I will do this as hobby and the system will also be used by my family so I would like it to be reasonably stable.

I have talked with a local providers who suggests me to deploy a knx network and the automation platform he uses. I don’t know the details about this automation platform software yet but I guess it won’t be as flexible as HA and I won’t be able to “play” with it as I could with HA. As counterpart I assume it will be more stable and “production grade” and I will need to invest less time.

So my doubt is…if I deploy HA it must be the only automation platform taking control of everything? Or can I combine it with another platform? Could I deploy a “core” system and combine it with HA so I can slowly customize my HA setup in my spare time and move devices slowly to HA? Or manage the different devices from the two platforms? Can the two platforms coexists? Does this makes sense?

thank you very much in advance for any help or suggestion.
Pablo.

p.s. I also have many doubts about what hardware and wired network could work better for my use case but I will create a different post about that in the hardware section in the forum :slight_smile:

Hi