Can I white-label this project?

I want to use this project as part of Smart Automation service I’d like to provide perhaps. can I custom brand this? What do I need to do make this happen?

Thanks!

I have no idea what you are trying to ask. Home Assistant is open source and each user has different needs and wants for home automation. If your asking how you can make money by setting it up for other people in their homes as a bespoke service then yes it is possible but the business idea is not scalable.
To add to this you would be fighting for a small market share that is diminishing day by day as the industry becomes plug and play more or less.

1 Like

Thanks! Thats exactly what I was asking.

I get the industry is becoming more plug-n-play and we are still a ways off having the ability to manage multiple vendor sources from a single app which I love about the home-assistant approach. I’m still exploring this and definitely a newbie here!

What is your plan when it comes to devices?
Are you going to sell only local controlled devices?
Because anything else will be a major pain.

Even something as simple as adding even a Google home can cause issues because of API changes.

There are multiple threads about this topic and most say that HA with all updates can cause issues.

2 Likes

For Right now, starting with one version of HA and a setup with some devices like Ikea, NEST and ring. If I can stabilize that, then that’ll be the set of hardware to install.

This is something I’m considering for low-income senior living so its easier to keep an eye out for them at a low cost and not really for money-making but rather community service effort on my part to test.

@Hellis81 Do you think this is an unwise / unscalable idea? Whats the best way to stabilize and produce an environment? Thank you for your support.

Local devices only, z-wave, ZigBee or flashed wifi.
Don’t ever allow updates.
But that also means your product becomes “old” fast.