Can someone explain what a "Platform" is?

I consider myself a power user of HA and i’d like to get further under the covers in general and start to do some custom front-end and perhaps back end development. I’m a long time developer (C++, Java, Python, plus lots others) and very comfortable with large scale architecture. I’ve read all the developer and other documentation that I believe is out there.

For the life of me i still can’t figure out what a “platform” is or how to think about it conceptually. I fully get the nuances of integrations, devices, and entities/state objects. But in reading the documentation I still can’t figure out what a platform is and how it fits into the architecture. For instance I have the following in my configuration.yaml…

light:
  - platform: switch
    name: Barn Flood Light
    entity_id: switch.barn_flood_light

So light is one of the native integrations and i’m defining one of my entities of type “switch” domain (switch.barn_flood_light) as an entity that uses the light integration? What is the switch platform doing in this example?

Sorry for the basic question and if i’ve missed a document somewhere I am happy to do more homework.

3 Likes

Not the clearest of explanations, but:

Yep been all over that and read it a few times…doesn’t really explain platforms though. Maybe i’m too old school OO developer/architect. Or maybe its just not written well but I can’t make any sense of it for platforms…

2 Likes

Platforms allow you to hook into the integration or domain via your integration.

That example you have there is the switch integration creating a light. The switch platform is a bunch of code that tells light how to create the light entity using all the accompanying yaml.

So is switch an integration or a platform? Light is an integration i know but i thought switch was similar and one of the standard out of box integrations?

It’s both.