Can someone help me get started with building API sensors?

Running Docker on a pi.

I’m new to home assistant, but not to home automation in general. I’ve gotten a ton done with NodeRed and am very proficient in SQL (for work). I’ve been really trying to understand the documentation, but I don’t fully get what goes where. All the documentation keeps telling me to update my configuration.yaml, but it’s not always obvious which one (I don’t think it’s actually the home_assistant/configuration.yaml, but rather it means “a” configuration file that is written in yaml.

Anyway, I’m struggling following this post here:

Continuing the discussion from UK (and worldwide) Pollen Count using tomorrow.io API:

my configuration currently looks like this:

# Configure a default setup of Home Assistant (frontend, api, etc)
default_config:

# Text to speech
tts:
  - platform: google_translate

group: !include groups.yaml
automation: !include automations.yaml
script: !include scripts.yaml
scene: !include scenes.yaml
#sensor: !include sensors.yaml
rest:
 - resource: https://api.tomorrow.io/v4/timelines?location=[MY lat/long]&fields=temperature&timesteps=1h&units=metric&apikey=[my API key]&fields=treeIndex,grassIndex,weedIndex tomorrowio_pollen_api
   scan_interval: 600
   sensor:
   ### Pollen - Tree Index
     - name: "Pollen - Grass Index - Day 0"
       value_template: "{{ value_json.data.timelines[0].intervals[0]['values']['grassIndex'] }}"
       json_attributes_path: "$.data.timelines[0].intervals[0].values"
       json_attributes:
         - treeIndex
         - weedIndex
         - temperature
     - name: "Pollen - Grass Index - Day 1"
       value_template: "{{ value_json.data.timelines[0].intervals[1]['values']['grassIndex'] }}"
       json_attributes_path: "$.data.timelines[0].intervals[1].values"
       json_attributes:
         - treeIndex
         - weedIndex
         - temperature
     - name: "Pollen - Grass Index - Day 2"