Can you replicate NabuCasa? How does it send/receive data?

I’ve been using NabuCasa for years for remote access to my Home Assistant.

I’ve also tested other “free” methods with opening ports/DuckDNS etc.

But I’m curious how does Home Assistant & NabuCasa work?
Is it possible for me to create my own cloud network to replicate how NabuCasa works without having to open ports?

I thought it could be possible to set up some sort of API to send/receive the data but yeah it’s a total novice area.

Ideally I’m wanting to install Home Assistant in a couple of family members homes with remote access. But, without having multiple NabuCasa accounts or opening and maintaining the ports/IPs etc.

Any thoughts/suggestions?

1 Like

When using NabuCasa[NC], it is HomeAssistant [HA] that connects to NC and from there on NC ‘relays’ all traffic between outside and your HA.
That is also the reason you don’t need to do any port forwarding.

You could do something similar by running something similar as NC on Azure or Amazon.
But i guess this would be more expensive, as you would be the only one that uses it.:thinking:

2 Likes

And if you’re further interested, you might’ve seen errors or warnings in your logs (after a restart) about a failure to connect to the “snitun server”. This refers to the SNI connection. I suppose tun is for tunnel… You can actually look at the diagrams in the public HA repo (and even the code, which I suppose you can run yourself too).

2 Likes

I was thinking if it would be possible to setup a MS SQL server capturing the logs.

This would be good for reading the data but not updating.

NabuCasa is a VPN services and yes you can make your own,but you can not do it without opening a port.

NabuCasa works by having two ports open.
One for your HA installation and one for your HA companion app.
If you run your own VPN then you would still need a port open for your companion app.