"Cannot connect to the Docker Daemon" after update

I’m currently running on a Raspberry Pi 4 B. I’ve been using this for about 2 years, but out of the blue the system won’t start up anymore.

I’m suspecting that it’s a problem with the SD card, or with the Raspberry Pi (time for an upgrade maybe?). However, I’m a total noob when it comes to coding, so I’m out of my element here.

Here are some of the error codes I see when I try to boot it up.

First:
Waiting for the home assistant CLI to be ready…
Write access unavailable, cannot proceed (try mounting with noload)

Then:
Cannot connect to the docker deamon at unix:///bar/run/docker.sock. Is the docker Daemon Running?
(This is repeated a bunch) followed by:
[WARN] Home Assistant CLI not starting! Jump into Emergency Console

If anyone can help, it would be really appreciated, as any of my trouble-shooting has failed.

I’ve tried a couple of thread troubleshooting suggestions, but they didn’t quite work (I suspect it wasn’t quite related to the problem I have).

EDIT:
Because I’m getting a few pings on this, editing my post to include the update in my comment below:

It turns out that it was most likely a botched update.

I bit the bullet and bought another Micro SD card and did a fresh install. That worked, and everything uploaded just fine. So I can safely rule out that it was an issue with the Pi itself.

I was also fortunately able to access the files on the old Micro SD card so that I didn’t have to start completely from scratch. I used Disk Internals Linux reader (a suggestion I did pick up from another thread) and was able to restore a solid chunk of my configuration, automations and scripts.

I can’t quite yet rule out that the SD card wasn’t bad, as I’m still using it for the files on there, but either way a fresh install solved my particular problem.

1 Like

I am really interested in this because I started getting this error as well.
I even tried a fresh install, and the issue is still there.