Cannot flash ESPHome to ESP8266

Hi, I received my first esp’s today and I try to flash esp home on one of them without success. I follow the official guides and use the ESP Home web app to flash to the usb connected board.

Using Mac I downloaded the correct driver and it’s recognized by the machine. I then try to install for first use but after a few seconds I get this:

I also tried the manual installation through the ESP home add on but I never the logs just freeze after a while and I loose connection to the PI that I’m using to run HA. A bin file is never created. Maybe my PI does not have enough resources?

This is my first dabble with ESP so I’m an absolute noob (HA as well actually :smiley: )

Anybody have an idea what I’m doing wrong?

you can do it through a compatible browser without HS

https://web.esphome.io/

EDIT
sorry you’ve already done that lol

This is how far I’ve gotten through the manual installation btw:

It’s been stuck like this for ca 30mins now…

I tried that indeed :smiley: no luck

How much memory does your Pi have?

Not as much as I want it to have… 1GB (RPI 3 B+ I think)

Not enough memory to compile Esphome using the add-on. You could increase your swap-file to 2 GB

I think I managed to get to the next step at least. The board I bought is a D1 mini ESP8266. When I created a device through the dashboard for ESP8266 I noticed that in the configuration was set to esp01_1m by default.

I connected the esp to the pi directly and changed the config to this:

tried again and now it seems to be installing nicely.

Is this the point where I can unplug it?

1 Like

Yep, looks good.

1 Like

Not sure how I can do that… Or what that means haha. Do you have a reference?