Cannot get to home assistant after changing ip address [Solved]

Hello eveyrone. I am very new to home assistant and am running on a raspberry pi. It is POE and I have been able to the to it via web interface. I wanted to set a static IP address and when I changed it, I can non longer get to the web interface. I don’t have a keyboard or monitor hooked up to it. I cannot ping the address but when I run an IP scanner the address that I set as static shows up. Not sure what to do next.
Thoughts? Thank you for any help in advance.

Steve

If you connect a screen to your rpi you’ll be able to see the IP address it is using.

Is it possible something else also has the same address?

Is the rpi IP address on the same subnet as all your other devices?

I’ll start with connecting a screen. There is nothing else that has the same IP address. I am running my iot on 192.168.35.0/24 and my regular network on 192.168.30.0/24. I have no problem getting to machines on either network from either side. Thanks for the help and will post back once I figure it out.

Thanks. I was able to see that the pi was on the address that I statically assigned to it. I used nmcli to change it to a static assignment of the previous IP and now I can get to the machine via web interface.

Right now I am on

Home Assistant 2023.6.2
Supervisor 2023.06.2
Operating System 10.2
Frontend 20230608.0 - latest

I would like to change my ip address to a different network that has dhcp assignment for HA. Given that I now have a static IP (be it the original one) how would I do this? ELI5

Thanks

Though this might help too

I was able to switch back to DHCP and so I can set the IP address that will get handed to this machine from my managed switch.

1 Like