Cannot log in to HA after core-update (HA on Syno VMM)

Ok, so I am new to HA and spent a good amount of time and effort setting it up, configuring dashboards and all. And then yesterday, after installing the HA-core-update - I can’t seem to login.
I have extensively searched and read all the variations on this topic (clear browser-cache, cookies, different browser) but that does not do the trick unfortunately. I am using Dashlane for passwordmanager and am 100% sure I have saved the username (and not name) and correct password.

I am running HA on my Synology NAS in a Virtual Machine (called VMM). I have read some things about changing files, deleting files and/or folders - but I cannot for the life of me find out how to connect to the folders and files on VMM! (and yes I did google that) Running MACOS and no Windows in my house (not literally…) to check or try something else.
So if there’s anyone running a similar setup with HA on VMM - please advice me how to manage my HA-files…

And ofcourse I can make a new virtual machine and start over again, and if necessary I will - but how do I prevent being locked again?

Can you connect to HA from DSM → virtual machine manager → select your HA → Connect ?
What does it says there? Any errors? Did you try to restart HA from there (click on arrow right of “Shut Down” and select “restart”)?
If you can ping you HA’s IP then try to connect to it with putty - if succesfull you’ll have access to all files to modify them.

Thanks for replying Pavel, much appreciated.
Can you connect to HA from DSM → virtual machine manager → select your HA → Connect? > Yes I can and have done. Explored a few commands there, tried auth for new password but failed with the errors msg “Error: unknown error, see supervisor”
Did you try to restart HA from there (click on arrow right of “Shut Down” and select “restart”)? > Yes I have done that a few times to no effect.