Can't get my head round Templates

Hi
My first post here, so please go easy.
I’ve set up hassio HA on RPI B+ 3, 15 Tasmotized Sonoffs on MQTT (Mosquito running on NAS). It’s all working fine. I’ve got few Automations, they work fine. I’ve executed few scripts from Mac Chrome, and Tasker (REST, HTTP Post). All ok so far.

The reason I’m posting here is: I can’t get my head around Templates. I’m a competent programmer. Programmed in many languages, just concentrating on Java/Kotlin at the moment. May be I’m looking at Templates from a different perspective. Eg the following code…

• platform: template
    switches:
    lrtv:
    value_template: “{{ is_state(‘switch.LRTV’, ‘on’) }}”
    turn_on:
    service: switch.turn_on
    data:
    entity_id: switch.LRTV
    turn_off:
    service: switch.turn_off
    data:
    entity_id: switch.LRTV

In normal programming, value returned by value_template(“ON” or “OFF”) would be stored in a variable, and based on it, turn_on or turn_off would be executed. Here, it looks as if value_template is an orphan statement. Where does its value go?

Maybe a simple idiots’ guide could do the trick. I have been reading the docs for the past 3 days, as I say can’t get my head round to it.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Is it Iam or Mr Gullible?
Your info says you joined 49 mins ago and have read 11mins
You don’t say where you got that bit of code and to be honest I can’t read it, as it’s not formatted correctly (formatting changes many things)
You are supposed (if you read the big sticky thread by tinkerer at the top of the threads, it also tells you lots of other important stuff)… You are supposed to insert code as preformatted (use the </> button to create such an area)
This code also looks weird, it has actions but is not set up with either trigger or action, so where does this live.?
The template bit given, equates to true or false dependent upon the on or offedness :wink: of your Living Room TV