Can't see HA VM on my network

Hi there,

I’m trying to setup outside access and Google Assistant on my HA server, but getting to the port-forwarding part of it, I can’t see the HA VM amongst connected devices on my network… and thus can’t setup the port-forwarding.

I’m new to HA. I’ve installed the last (7.2) VM version of it on VirtualBox, running on an old Windows PC (freshly installed with Win11).

The PC is connected to my home network through Wi-Fi, although I do know it’s not ideal.
My home network is as such :

• I’ve got a router from my internet provider that connect to the internet (I live in in France, and every internet provider gives you a default all included modem/router with any subscription).
  • This router’s wifi is turned off, it connects via ethernet to a TP-Link DECO9 router, meshed across my home with two additionnal DECO9 units. The TP-Link Deco9 network is the actual network everything connects to.

I’ve encountered a strong delay problem with the install : HA was “preparing” for more than an hour before getting to the onboarding screen. But it finally got there.

Now, during that preparation process, I could see the HA VM IP address showing up on my network, in the TP Link app, and available for port-forwarding, and it was named “wlan0”.

But after the onboarding was complete… it just disapeared from the network. The wlan0 device shows as disconnected on the TP Link app, and no other device appears, with the dedicated local IP adress.

When running, I can perfectly reach my HA dashboard both with homeassistant.local:8123, and the local IP address like such : 198.168.XX.XXX:8123, from any other computer that is connected on my network. I can set it to static and change it no problem in the Supervisor, it always works.

But it won’t show on the TP Link Deco app anymore, and there is no override to set manually the IP address for port-forwarding.