Can't see IP camera?

I am probably missing obvious… I have a generic IP camera on my home network, and I can see it on any browser by entering: http://192.168.1.131:9090/stream/video.mjpeg

It looked pretty straightforward, I put this into my configuraion.yaml file:

camera:
  - platform: mjpeg
    mjpeg_url: http://192.168.1.131:9090/stream/video.mjpeg

So, what else do I need to do? When I reboot, there is no card, no view, no tab. What am I missing? (Newbie question).

Thanks,
Steve Mann
[ Raspberry 3, hass.io, Home Assistant Version 0.72.1]

is it showing up as an entity in your ‘states’ list? should be something like “camera.xxxx”

No.
What else should I check?

Any errors popup?
Silly question, but are you sure you saved the configuration.yaml and restarted HA?

doh-200x127

I would have sworn that I rebooted because I typically reboot after every configuration.yaml change. (I am not experienced enough to know when “reload core” is sufficient). But on the chance that I hadn’t, I rebooted.
Now I am seeing camera.mjpeg_camera in States, and the camera view on the overview-Home page.

(Old software engineers never die, they just reboot.)

But your assistance is greatly appreciated. My next challenge is to get my Amcrest camera to work in Home Assistant.

Steve

another point based on your answers above is that there is no need to reboot your HA machine after a configuration change. just restart the home assistant service.

Would that be homeassistant.restart? Certainly faster than rebooting the Raspberry Pi.

If so, can I make a feature request to add this to the Configuration reloading on the General configuration? I am already on that page to do a configuration check.

You can do it from configuration panel>general page. Its at the bottom of that page.