Card to start/stop VM

I’m completely new to HA, migrating from Domoticz and most of the things I sorted out with the help of the forums an chatGPT :slight_smile:

One of the things remaining: I would like to see the status of a esxi vm (online/offline) and start/stop it with a pushbutton.

I followed this guide AUTOMATION - Gracefully Shutdown VM's & ESXi Host via SSH
and I’m able to run a script againts the VM guest from the HA ssh shell, and this works. Now I want to put this all in 1 card. Somehing like:
afbeelding

This is in my configuration.yaml:

## ESX Buttons
shell_command:
    turn_on_pluto: ssh -i /config/ssh_keys/id_rsa_homeassistant -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no [email protected] "/vmfs/volumes/DataDisk8TB/scripts/startpluto.sh"
    turn_off_pluto: ssh -i /config/ssh_keys/id_rsa_homeassistant -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no [email protected] "/vmfs/volumes/DataDisk8TB/scripts/stoppluto.sh"
    turn_on_wks: ssh -i /config/ssh_keys/id_rsa_homeassistant -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no [email protected] "/vmfs/volumes/DataDisk8TB/scripts/startwks.sh"
    turn_off_wks: ssh -i /config/ssh_keys/id_rsa_homeassistant -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no [email protected] "/vmfs/volumes/DataDisk8TB/scripts/stopwks.sh"

but then with 3 vm’s.
What is the best approach to do this ?

if you don’t want to have 3 cards, one for each, then you could create a dropdown helper. use that to choose which vm you’re wanting to start/stop. then have the start/stop refer to the dropdown (it’ll be an input_select entity) to know which vm to do.

I’m still not getting the overview of the HA config.
I managed to create an online/offline binary switch w/ ICMP instead of ping (which is obsolete)

afbeelding
This goes connected/disconnected as with the state of the VM.

configuration.yaml

## ESX Buttons
shell_command:
    turn_on_pluto: ssh -i /config/ssh_keys/id_rsa_homeassistant -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no [email protected] "/vmfs/volumes/DataDisk8TB/scripts/startpluto.sh"