Change room temperature on leaving zone

Hi, I am fairly new to HA. I’ve created my own room temp control using a basic Sonoff (esphome) to control radiator valves. A AM2302 temp sensor was build into the Sonoff basic. Automation rules open/close valves when comparing room temp with helper variables, set via sliders. It works well.

But the ultimate goal was to change the radiator target temperature automatically to a lower value when leaving home.

Setting up an automation rule triggered by leaving zone is understood. However, in the automation action I would like to change the variable input_number.temp_living_room to a lower value.

Go to developer tools and try to make a service call on your input_number

Use the service “input_number.set_value”

Docs have examples of automations:

Have you thought about making a generic thermostat for each room and then having an away temperature set for when you are out of the room?

Yes I have :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: but would not know where to start.

What is a thermostat?: a temperature sensor with an output indicator that tells you if your sensor is below or above a settable target value, right? Sensor temperature, Target temperature, boolean on/off I would have thought. The on/off is my sonoff controlled radiator valve. Sensor temperature is the integrated temp sensor on my sonoff switch and target temperature is my helper variable.

But I noted that when I dropped a thermostat card in the lovelace interface, I could not link them to my helper variable. Yet it did automatically find blue LEDs on my wall light switches (which are dimmable), so I thought they need a specific hardware device.

It’s more that you would need to set up a generic Thermostat in the actual Home Assistant configuration, it’s not just a frontend thing. Here for example is one of mine:

climate:
  - platform: generic_thermostat
    name: Lower House
    heater: switch.house_boiler
    target_sensor: sensor.average_house_temperature