Change sensor values display names

Hi All

I am quite new to this ESPHome and Home Assistant world, and definately NOT a YAML programmer…

I have managed to get HA and ESPHome running, and with great help form examples on this forum gotten an ESP32 to talk to my heatpump, and give back variuos information.

One of the things I get back is the compressor status, in the form of a 0-10 numerical value. I would like to present this status on my dashboard in text form, but I can’t get it to work.

I have seen and tried several examples found on the forums on how to convert these numbers into text, but I can’t get any of them to work on my environment…

My sensor:

- platform: modbus_controller
    modbus_controller_id: epever
    name: "Kompressor Status"
    id: compressor_status
    register_type: read
    address: 0x0000F241
    value_type: S_WORD

Any assistance would be appreciated

once the value is showing up in HA (use Developer Tools / States to see it) then you can use a template sensor to create what ever you want …as a completely different example I have shows (i copied and pasted from somebody else but have learnt how to use templates with scripts

sensor:
  - platform: template
      windforce:
        friendly_name: Wind force
        icon_template: " mdi:weather-windy"
        value_template: "{% set wind = states('sensor.wind_speed_2')|float %}
        {% set wind_round = wind|round(1) %}
        {% if wind <= 1 %}Bft: 0, Calm, {{wind_round}} Knts, {{states('sensor.cardinal_wind_direction')}}
        {% elif wind <= 3 %}Bft: 1, Light air, {{wind_round}} Knts, {{states('sensor.cardinal_wind_direction')}}
        {% elif wind <= 6 %}Bft: 2, Light breeze, {{wind_round}} Knts, {{states('sensor.cardinal_wind_direction')}}
        {% elif wind <= 10 %}Bft: 3, Gentle breeze, {{wind_round}} Knts, {{states('sensor.cardinal_wind_direction')}}
        {% elif wind <= 16 %}Bft: 4, Moderate breeze, {{wind_round}} Knts, {{states('sensor.cardinal_wind_direction')}}