Check Google Calendar before turning on lights issue

Hi all -

I am still pretty new to HA and have run into an issue with my lights automation. Basically I have my home office lights turn on every day at 7:45am when I am working from home which is most of the time. Now there is 1 week out of the month that I will have to go into work and would like my home office lights to stay off. Since I normally list an entry of “Matt @ Work” on the google calendar for that week and I have some how managed to get my google calendar synced with Home assistant, I figured that I’d just add a condition to check if the “Matt @ Work” is not listed on the calendar. The problem is that I can never get the condition to function and I always registers as me being home. Here is what I have.

alias: Test turn home office lights on when not at work
description: Turn on home office lights durring the work week and I am at home
trigger:
  - platform: time
    at: "07:45:00"
    enabled: true
condition:
  - condition: time
    weekday:
      - mon
      - tue
      - wed
      - thu
      - fri
  - condition: template
    value_template: "{{ not is_state('calendar.matt_s_work_calendar', 'Matt @ Work') }}"
action:
  - service: scene.turn_on
    target:
      entity_id: scene.office_lights_on
    metadata: {}
mode: single

I’ve tried looking through the other posts and can’t quite figure out why the condition is not preventing the lights from coming on - it always tests as “true” (i.e. no entry for “Matt @ Work”) when I clearly have a multi-day event showing “Matt @ Work” from the linked google calendar on the calendar page within Home Assistant.

What the heck am I missing here?

Thanks a bunch for your help!

The state is always on or off.
What you want is

{{ state_attr('calendar.matt_s_work_calendar','message') != 'Matt @ Work' }}