Christmas Light Switch Automation

Setup Information:

• Raspberry Pi 3
  • Home Assistant All In One Installer
  • Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5
  • Aeotec by Aeon Labs ZW096 Smart Switch, Small, White

Hi All,

I want to create a simple automation where an Aeon Labs ZW096 Smart Switch is turned on when the sunsets and turned off 5 hours later.

How I accomplish this is still a bit fuzzy in my mind despite the examples that have been provided here.

What I have come up with is:

automation:
  alias: "Christmas lights turn on at sunset and turn off five hours later."
  trigger:
    platform: sun
    event: sunset
  action:
    service:
    entity_id:

I am not clear on the following:

1. How do I determine the service to use?
  2. How do I determine the entity_id to use? There is an old entity_id and new entity_id when I look at the switch in the HA frontend.
  3. How do I add the command to turn off the light switch five hours after it came on?

This is my first attempt at writing an automation. I appreciate any suggestions to help me get started in this area!

1. The service is related to the device you are turning on. For a switch it’s switch.turn_on for a light it is light.turn_on. homeassistant.turn_on works for a lot of devices also.

2. I would use the new entity id

3. Two options. Add a delay after the first action and the turn the light off. Second option is just a separate automation to turn off the switch at a set time.

I’m pretty sure with the delay option if you restart HA or there was a power outage the switch would not turn off after 5 hours as all the automations get reset. Just as a heads up.

See below for the delay syntax. About half way down the page.