Complete newbie. Need help creating my first widget template

Hi, so I figured out how to show sensor info, such as temperature, is state, etc.

How can I add a clickable button that switches lights for a widget template? Could you please show an example of a clickable button light switch code in a widget template for Android?

What about multiple buttons in one widget?

Also, how to add a dynamic light icon to that light switch in a widget template?

Thank you

template widget is not controllable, only shows the rendered template

not a current feature

you cant add an icon but you can use emoji

Before I start showing some template examples, I have to say that I use the Nova Launcher on my Android - it allows me to ‘layer’ multiple widgets on top of each other.

So, I normally use a ‘Service Button’ widget that I use to call e.g. a switch.toggle service in the background; I use an image for the icon, but I don’t use the ‘Label’ field.

I then overlay it with a smaller/half-size ‘Template’ widget that allows me to not only show the status, but apply some basic formatting, e.g. font color.

The Service Button is straightforward and the template widget looks like this:

{% if is_state('automation.frigate_notification_poolcam','on') -%}
  <font color="green">
{% else %}
  <font color="red">
{% endif %}
<b> {{ states('automation.frigate_notification_poolcam') }}</b>

This is the result on my screen:
image image

Tapping on the camera symbol turns the automation on and off.
I don’t think it’s straightforward to dynamically change the icon/symbol itself, but I’m good with the 2-layer setup.

To display info from multiple sensors I also use the template widget, e.g.

WS {{ ((states("sensor.temp") | float(0) - 32)*5/9) | round(1) }}C<br>Pt {{ ((states("sensor.temp_1") | float(0) - 32)*5/9) | round(1) }}C<br>Pl {{ ((states("sensor.temp_2") | float(0) - 32)*5/9) | round(1) }}C