Configure IFTTT automation with numeric ingredient

Hello everyone

what I’m trying to do is to configure Google Home with IFTTT such that if I say “Turn on my oven for X minutes”, IFTTT generate a POST request with the number ingredient and HA gets it and turn on the oven for the specified amount of time.

I was trying to follow this thread here: Sending events from IFTTT to Home Assistant - webhooks broken? but since I’m pretty new at all of this, I really have no idea how to pass the “dynamic” information (the timer) to the switch on service in Home assistant.

I’m pretty sure this is fairly easy for experienced users, but right now to me this is kind of obscure :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot and sorry if something is wrong in my post

Is there any reason you’re not using the Google Assistant integration directly instead of using IFTTT as an intermediary? I don’t have a Google Home, and I’ve never tried to use the Google Assistant integration, but I would think that would work much better for you.

But if you really do want to use IFTTT, then I could probably help you with that. I’ve used it before, and it is a bit confusing.

Hello pnbruckner,
yes there’s a reason. First off I’d like to avoid paying the monthly fee with Nabucasa goet the cloud integration and I’d like to stay away from the “on-prem” integration since it’s not reliable at all and I don’t want to play with it every month or so to get it running. I’ve already configured it but it was a mess and it stopped working all of a sudden. IFTTT with Google assistant integration is way easier to manage and more reliable, but I’d need to understand how I should pass this info to the HA automation.

Ok, fair enough, although I didn’t know that the integration between HA and Google Assistant relied on the Home Assistant Cloud integration. That was not what I expected, but I’ve never used either.